top of page
Search

Remember - Short Story

My entry for the 1st round of the NYCMidnight Short Story Competition (placed 1st in my category)


------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I do not know this man.

I do not know his profession.

I do not know his age.

I do not even know his name.

All I do know is that he is my client.

It has been a few months since I suddenly upped and moved from

my cozy townhouse in Oxford to the more rural areas of

Colchester to start my new freelance career. It has been a

strange adjustment, the people around here are incredibly

private, very much keep themselves to themselves sort of

people, and this man was not any different.

I was eating my breakfast in the café located on the grounds

of the apartment complex. I decided to go for something a bit

different today, so I boldly chose a meal of poached eggs on

toast with some hot black coffee. Between sips and munches, I

leisurely flicked through a copy of the latest Cosmopolitan,

keeping an eye out for the latest trends and hot items is all

part of the job description, after all. A beautiful macrame

wall hanging caught my eye, its detailed patterns of browns,

beiges, and creams made it a perfect statement piece for any

room. Noted.

“Excuse me, Ms. Palmer?”

I was torn away from my current fascination by a pleasant man

in a distinctive black woolen coat.

“Can I help you?”

“I hope I am not interrupting?”

“No, No! Not at all I was just...” Now, what was I doing?

“I am here for an appointment.”

“That is strange, I was not aware of any appointments today.”

My brows furrowed as I began looking about my person, patting

down the chair, lifting cushions, now where did I put my

planner?

“Actually...if it is not too much hassle, will you be able to

fit me in today? I must insist that I am in a bit of a hurry.”

I gave a little huff as I roughly gestured for him to take the

seat across from me. “I do not appreciate such late notice

but...since you’re here.”


The man gave me a warm smile as he tucked his coat beneath him

to take a seat. “Thank you, I swear if I was not in such a

hurry, I would never have dreamed of dropping in on you at

such late notice.”

“Mm-hm. I must make you aware that I do charge extra for

sudden appointments such as this.”

“Thank you, I’ll pay any price.”

“All right, all right,” I sigh in defeat, eager to move this

conversation along “How can I help you?”

“I’m looking for a gift.”

How...vague.

“Okay, can I ask who the gift is for?”

“Someone very dear to me.”

Uh-huh.

“Can I ask for the occasion of the gift?”

The man started to shuffle in his seat, his hands fiddled with

the lapels of his coat, and he could not look me in the eye.

What did I tell you? People around here are secretive, the lot

of them.

I struggle to contain my frustration at the standstill we have

come to “Sir, If I am to help you at all with buying a gift

then I need to know some details. I am a personal shopper, not

a mind reader.” Likely, this was a gift for some hidden

mistress which would explain his evident discomfort and

taciturn nature.

“You’re right, I’m sorry,” the man mutters an apology, still

fiddling with his coat. “The person, whom the gift is for, has

recently moved into a new home and has been upset about the

lack of décor for a while now.”

“I see, so you’re after a housewarming gift,” now we are

getting somewhere. I go to grab my planner to jot down some

notes, only to not find it anywhere about me, strange, where

did I put my planner?

Giving up the search before it had even begun, I decided to

jot down notes on the Cosmopolitan that was laid open nearby.

As I reach for it, I notice a beautiful macramé wall hanging

on the open page. Now that would make a perfect home décor

piece.


“The person receiving this gift, are they by any chance into

macramé? Like, wall hangings?” I grab the magazine and spin it

around to face the unforthcoming gentleman.

The man suddenly lit up, a beaming smile plastered on his

face, revealing a chipped front tooth. “Oh, they would adore

that! It is perfect!”

The man and I spent a while discussing the affordability of

the gift, as well as pricing, delivery, and wrapping—tying

together all the loose ends and final arrangements.

Satisfied, the man stood up to leave, “Thank you, Ms. Palmer.

You have been beyond helpful. I know this gift is going to be

incredibly loved.”

“It is no problem at all, my pleasure. But please, call me

Natalie.”

The man left with a puppy-dog smile and a little wave. But as

I sipped my now ice-cold coffee, I still cannot help but

wonder how he found me in the first place.


***

I do not know this man.

I do not know his profession.

I do not know his age.

I do not even know his name.

All I do know is that he is my client.

It has been a few months since I suddenly upped and moved from

my cozy townhouse in Oxford to the more rural areas of

Colchester to start my new freelancing career. It has been a

strange adjustment, the people around here are incredibly

private, very much keep themselves to themselves sort of

people, but this man was different.

I was eating my breakfast in the café located on the grounds

of the apartment complex. I decided to be more adventurous

today, so I settled on a meal of poached eggs on toast with

some hot black coffee. Once I had cleared my plate, I decided

to scope out a copy of the latest Cosmopolitan, keeping an eye

out for the latest trends and hot items is all part of the job

description, after all. A beautiful macramé wall hanging

caught my eye—it would be a perfect statement piece for any

room. Noted.


“Excuse me, Natalie?”

I was torn away from my absorption by the sudden call of my

name. I looked up to see a cheerful man with deep laugh lines

and a cheery disposition. I scanned his face, looking for any

sign of familiarity but found none. How did he know my name?

Thump. Thump.

“Yes, I am Natalie, how may I help you?”

“I am here for an appointment.”

“Oh, I am sorry!” I fluttered around trying to clear away my

plates and papers “I was not aware I had any appointments

today?” Caught off guard, I begin searching the tables and

chairs, looking under them, behind them, now where did I put

my planner?

“Your planner should be in the pocket of your bag.”

I stare at the man, how did he know what I was looking for? Lo

and behold, there it was, my black, leather planner neatly

tucked away in my bag pocket.

The confusion must have been evident on my face, as the man

quickly interjected “It’s a common place where most people

keep their diaries and planners after all, a good guess on my

part it seems!”

The man chuckles to himself as he takes a seat to my left “Oh,

that reminds me,” the man proceeds to remove a beautifully

wrapped gift from his satchel.

“I have brought you a gift, to thank you for your assistance

yesterday.”

My confusion deepens. Did I have any appointments yesterday? I

try to shrug it off, it is impossible to remember every client

that comes through my doors. But surely, I should be able to

remember yesterday, what was I do yesterday?

Thump. Thump. Thump.

The thumping grows louder, and my confusion intensifies.

Come on, Natalie. Let's be professional.

I muster up a semblance of a smile “Oh, a gift? That is so

lovely of you, you did not have to do that! How kind!”

The man is radiating with pride and joy as he hands the gift

to me to open, as I unwrap it, a beautiful macramé wall

hanging is slowly revealed. Its soft, woolen pattern and


blended tones of browns, beiges, and creams make it a truly

astounding piece of décor.

“Oh my, it is beautiful! What a coincidence- I just—” Where

did I see it?

Thump. Thump. Thump. Thump.

I push onwards. “I think this sort of thing would go down a

treat with some of my clients” though no matter how hard I

try, I cannot remember which ones.

“I was thinking you could use it to decorate your apartment

since I’ve heard the rooms here can be pretty bland.”

Thump. Thump. Thump. Thump. Thump.

Lost in my thoughts, I struggle to hear anything but my own

beating heart. I am unsure what happened next, the last thing

I can remember is some of my neighbours leading me out of the

café. But as I turn down the corridor that leads to my

apartment, I hear the faint sounds of a tender voice.

“Sorry sir, but it is best that you leave. It does not seem

like one of her best days today.”

But all I can think about is my heart going thump, thump,

thump.

***

It has been a few months since I suddenly upped and moved from

my cozy townhouse in Oxford to the more rural areas of

Colchester to start my new freelancing career. It has been a

strange adjustment, the people around here are incredibly

private, very much keep themselves to themselves sort of

people, except today.

After leaving my apartment, I ran into one of my neighbours

who decided to stop and chat with me. I learned he works as a

doctor at a facility nearby, so it is not often I run into

him. He is a very gentle man with a lilting voice that makes

him easy to talk to.

“Good morning, Natalie! Any appointments today?”

“Not that I am currently aware of, but people have the habit

of springing out at me from nowhere.”

The doctor let out a hearty laugh “Isn’t that always the

case?”

We decided to grab breakfast in the café located on the

grounds of the apartment complex. The doctor settled on


poached eggs on toast with some hot black coffee. It sounded

delightful, and having never tried it before, I decided to

take the leap and order the same. Once we had cleared our

plates and our stomachs were full, we continued our

conversation as we sauntered along together, drinking our hot

coffees as we walked. I accompanied the doctor as far as the

door leaving the complex before deciding to turn back and work

on some of my work assignments.


But before he left, he recommended that I start keeping notes

of things in my diary, he said it may help with my lapse in

memory.

So, note to self, my neighbour is called Dr. Barrowman, and he

is a very dear friend.

***


It’s been a few months since I suddenly upped and moved from

my cozy townhouse in Oxford to the more rural areas of

Colchester to start my new freelancing career. It has been a

strange adjustment, the people around here are incredibly

private, very much keep themselves to themselves sort of

people, but they are friendly enough.

But there was someone I was looking for the most, a man who is

different than the rest.

I remember his profession, I remember his age, I even remember

his name. I round the hallway into the canteen and my eyes

were immediately drawn to a man in a black, woolen coat, and a

cheerful disposition.

And for the first time, I look at him, truly look at him. I no

longer see just a man.

I remember the smile lines etched into his face; ruddy and

rosy from the years we spent out in the ocean, sailing the

world. I remember the laugh lines that highlight his eyes, I

remember he was always self-conscious about them, but I told

him they are proof of all the inside jokes and laughter we

have shared; he loved them ever since. I remember the chipped

front tooth from teaching our son to play cricket-he took a

cricket ball straight to the face and still laughed it off to

keep our son smiling.

I remembered my husband, and I truly saw him for the first

time in 5 years.


“Hello, Nally. Fancy joining me for some breakfast?”

“Sure, let’s have our usual.”

I smiled at him, and he smiled back.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page